best practice - adding a kernel driver as user (eg. CAN-A20 from olimex)

winfried

Hello,

I am not very experienced on the Armbian development and want to add a kernel driver to the legacy kernel using the compile.sh development tool, but did not grasp the best practice to add the kernel source reading some forum posts and docs.

As a start lets add the sunxi-can driver for the Olimex CAN-A20  interface  for legacy kernel for Olimex lime2 A20 board like described in the Wiki at Olimex:

https://www.olimex.com/wiki/A20-CAN

I did:

a)  http://docs.armbian.com/Developer-Guide_Build-Preparationon an virtual box on my machine

and can successfully build kernel packages and apply user-patches

B) enable some patches like the

copy /patch/kernel/sun7i-default/0015-sunxi-codec_LL.patch.disabled to user-patches/...

and build new kernel packages for my board and tested it.

To add the driver

a)  cloned the driver source:

git clone https://github.com/btolfa/sunxi-can-driver.git

So the first questions for best practice:

1) where to place the source so it is not removed on updates ?

2) How to change

linux-sunxi/drivers/net/can/Kconfig and linux-sunxi/drivers/net/can/Makefile ?

3) How to change the linux config without everytime run the menuconfig and being able to

update new versions of config file if new kernel arrives ?

mfg

winfried

3/

copy the ".config" file with the pattern in userpatches folder

I am using

userpatches/linux-sunxi-next.config

userpatches/linux-odroidxu4-next.config

2/

unless better piece of advise, create a patch for the 2 files then put them in userpatches/kernel (?)

1/

idea 1: create a patch with all the source (???)

idea 2: use symlinks ???

1) where to place the source so it is not removed on updates ?

2) How to change

linux-sunxi/drivers/net/can/Kconfig and linux-sunxi/drivers/net/can/Makefile ?