Orange Pi Zero virtual wireless devices not working

I've read many posts here and understand the OPi0 wireless chip isn't very well liked. I'm trying to setup hostapd with both client and AP functionality. I can get AP working only if I dedicate wlan0 to it. It seems that virtual devices (eg iw dev wlan0 interface add uap0 type managed; ip link set uap0 up) don't work with the current jessie image, making it impossible to have both AP and client simultaneously.

I'm happy to help with testing the driver, but I'm no expert and certainly not knowledgeable enough to code this sort of stuff. If there's any help to be had, I'd be grateful.

4 hours ago, chowderhead said:

I've read many posts here and understand the OPi0 wireless chip isn't very well liked.

Opi Zero is not suitable for such complex setup. Even you manage to patch the driver (for which you need advanced knowledge) and get all this working, performance would be terrible.

Consider attaching some proven USB wireless chip or get Opi Zero 2 H3, which have at least a decent wireless chip and where this might be possible to achieve.

On 5/29/2017 at 0:53 AM, Igor said:

Opi Zero is not suitable for such complex setup. Even you manage to patch the driver (for which you need advanced knowledge) and get all this working, performance would be terrible.

Consider attaching some proven USB wireless chip or get Opi Zero 2 H3, which have at least a decent wireless chip and where this might be possible to achieve.

Thanks for the reply, Igor. I would like to challenge your assertion since I presently have a Raspberry Pi Zero Wireless performing this function quite handily; for my purposes, anyway. The OPi0 is more useful given a quad core processor and more io, hence my interest in it. I'll take a look at the H3 version, however.

1 minute ago, chowderhead said:

I would like to challenge your assertion since I presently have a Raspberry Pi Zero Wireless performing this function quite handily;