Which Wifi Adapter?

Shemin A Salam

Hi, I am new to Orange Pi ecosystem. I have a Orange Pi PC 2 running armbian and some times raspbian. I want to use a wifi adapter to this. Since there has been many discussions on which adapter to chose and how to chose I am really confused. Please help me select a wifi adapter which could be installed easily considering that I am a rookie.

4 hours ago, Shemin A Salam said:

Hi, I am new to Orange Pi ecosystem. I have a Orange Pi PC 2 running armbian and some times raspbian. I want to use a wifi adapter to this. Since there has been many discussions on which adapter to chose and how to chose I am really confused. Please help me select a wifi adapter which could be installed easily considering that I am a rookie.

https://www.armbian.com/orange-pi-pc2/

Scroll down and pick one from the tested list. They work fine on Armbian, while on Raspbian forget about.

18 minutes ago, Shemin A Salam said:

i am looking for something cheaper

Do you think that list is a joke?

Just buy some random one but please don't come here ranting about troubles. Shitty wireless adaptors = poor performance. We used to recommend this cheap one: MT7601 based https://amzn.to/2VP9EYk which works better than wireless on Orangepi Zero, for example, but it is still very bad. Drivers on some kernels are lower than acceptable level.

This https://amzn.to/2MXpJpP is the cheapest I will recommend you to buy. You can find it for little less on Aliexpress or Ebay and it is magnitude better - you get AC dual band adaptor with pitch perfect drivers.

10 minutes ago, Igor said:

I bought one of these, looking exactly the same, from a different dealer on Amazon, however I did not come with MT7601U but an unsupported Realtek chip. You can take the risk buying this and maybe you even get what it is advertised. 

Edit: Related: 

20 minutes ago, Igor said:

Do you think that list is a joke?