Issue with UART Configuration on OrangePi Zero 2 Board

Go to solution Solved by ALIGMSTEN,

Posted (edited)

Hello,

I am new to Armbian and Linux in general. I am using an OrangePi Zero 2 (H616) board and need to enable the hardware UART. To do this, I tried using the simplest method I could find: running the command armbian-config -> System -> Hardware. However, in the section where I should find options for peripherals to enable, I found nothing.

2024-06-04141658.png.426d9ff92c76748b53600618b5bb3bee.png

I have tried installing different versions of Armbian, but nothing changed:

- Armbian_24.5.1_Orangepizero2_jammy_current_6.6.31.img
- Armbian_24.2.1_Orangepizero2_bookworm_current_6.6.16.img
- Armbian_23.8.3_Orangepizero2_bookworm_current_6.1.53.img
- Armbian_24.5.1_Orangepizero2_noble_current_6.6.31.img

I also tried installing the system on different SD cards, but nothing changed.

Please tell me, what am I doing wrong?

Thank you.

Edited by Dmytro Lazor

Hello @ALIGMSTEN,

I want to use UART5, which is located on the TX-PH2 and RX-PH3 pins. As far as I understand, this UART is initially disabled. To enable it, I tried using the command armbian-config -> System -> Hardware, but I couldn't do it because nothing was displayed in the graphical interface (as shown in the screenshot above).

After doing some research, I started experimenting with the /boot/armbianEnv.txt file. I added the line overlay_prefix=sun50i-h616. After rebooting the board, I tried using armbian-config -> System -> Hardware again, and now the interface displays the hardware peripherals along with the UART5 that I need. By enabling it, I can receive data through the TX-PH2 and RX-PH3 pins via /dev/ttyS1.

So, I have essentially solved my problem, but I still have a few questions:

• Is there a simpler or recommended way to enable UART5 on this board without manually editing the /boot/armbianEnv.txt file?