4k Output on the Tinkerboard?

doja

Just got my new tinkerboard powered up with armbian. For some reason I could not get anything after build 1.3 off the Asus site to boot!

Anway, first impressions good, however in the graphics settings it seems to max out at 1920 x 1080 whilst on paper the tinkerboard is supposed to support 4k.  I'll admit I am new to linux so perhaps i'm missing something ovbious, but if someone could explain how I can up the resolution to 3,840 x 2,160 that would be great. For the avoidance of doubt I have it connected to an Acer 27" 4k monitor.

According to their faq it's scalled to 4k from 1080P.

4. How powerful is the GPU processing

Tinker Board has an integrated ARM Mali GPU T760 MP4 supports up to up-scaled 4K from 1080P, and the GPU also supports H.264/H.265 4K hardware decoder for 4K content display

Whenever the GPU is able to hardware decode 4K, doesn't mean that the software is able to do it... :P

1 hour ago, doja said:

Just got my new tinkerboard powered up with armbian. For some reason I could not get anything after build 1.3 off the Asus site to boot!

IMO, don't think about 4K as long as your tinker runs not smoothly & stable with provided tinker OS. ;)

From TinkerOS 1.9:

14.Improve the stability of 4K media player.
15.Fix some issues for 4K Display.

Seems that they still work on a stable 4K player.

From the armbian dowloadpage:

• Severe powering troubles due to Micro USB power connector. It’s recommended to power through GPIO pins to prevent under-voltage issues (instabilities, boot/crash cycles).

And a must read too. The tinker is a cool board from specs, but has some hardware fails. It's claimed to be a RPi with much more power, but on software side it's still WIP. 

Just have a look on the open issues in the Rockchip subforum here (mine is lying around until I find motivation to play more with it. Sorry @TonyMac32 weather was too good and I was sailing during weekend :D).