Custom Allwinner A64 Board, LCD Touchscreen, and Armbian

DavidT

Hello Armbian Community,

As you can see by my post count, I am new to Armbian, but so far have found it to be an amazing resource, and truly appreciate the hard work you all do.  Its really impressive, and your knowledge and understanding of SBC’s is incredible.

I am attempting to get Armbian working on a custom A64 device that was originally designed to be used as a Point-of-sale machine, that runs Android.  I understand I am venturing into uncharted territory here, and this is absolutely not supported, but it’s a fun project and I am learning a ton.  I am asking for help, but realize none may be available.

Here is the hardware I have in hand.  It is an A64 board connected to a touchscreen LCD panel, and it seems to be pretty closely related to a Pine64 or BananaPi m64.

• Allwinner A64
  • 1gb RAM
  • 4gb eMMC
  • 10/100 Ethernet
  • WiFi, Bluetooth (AP6212)
  • 15”, 1920x1080 touchscreen
  • HDMI output
  • microSD Card slot
  • 12-volt power barrel
  • Android image based on the Allwinner BSP (u-boot 2014.7, kernel 3.10.65, and a sys_config.fex file)

And here is what I have observed thus far:  

Just to begin isolating the hardware and testing what works / what doesn’t work, I ran a series of tests.  This board can boot a vanilla Armbian 5.35 Pine64 image, and HDMI output works, ethernet works, and the touchscreen actually works even though the LCD is not lit or utilized.  It functions like a giant trackpad thought, and I can move the mouse cursor on the HDMI monitor by running my finger across the unlit touchscreen. eMMC is not recognized by this image, however. 

Next, I custom built the (unsupported) BananaPi m64 Armbian image, and with this build I gained eMMC support, but lost ethernet.  So, I believe the U-boot configuration differences led to those results.