All strange to a new user

theguyuk

I am new to single board computers and have previously used Microsoft Windows computers or Android TV dongle/box.

I do find it a bit odd that everyone seems to be working on their own versions of operating systems.  It would be a bit like Intel coding their own Windows and AMD coding their own version of windows too.

Now while people have different aims and software needs it is I think a shame all the different programmers and groups cannot come together more on software.

You have the various

Linuxs

Then all the soc variations.

Now Armbian seems a step in the right direction and you have various Socs and SBC computers, it is just a pity Xapple, Lemaker, Banana , Orange etc cannot pull together as well as the various programmers.  

Build like Windows etc one operating system that just loads the drivers for the hardware differences and components.  

I guess I am just to naive about the way things really are.

Build like Windows etc one operating system that just loads the drivers for the hardware differences and components.  

I guess I am just to naive about the way things really are.