Building Armbian for S905X3 TV box

Luigi Calligaris

Dear all,

I own a 4G/64G H96 MAX X3, and I have tried using the pre-compiled Armbian_20.07_Arm-64_focal_current_5.7.8_desktop.img multiplatform Armbian Focal image together with the DTB by @root-stas with very good success (it seemed to work quite well in my usage, I noticed some instability in the Chromium browser, I'm aware the graphics support was not yet ready). I tried the new 2020.10, so far without GUI and I see that it boots correctly, giving me a terminal on the UART terminals I soldered on the PCB (I kept the wires tidy, and hope those pads last). 

I have some experience with building a Linux kernel, creating a simple kernel module, and some marginal knowledge of configuring U-Boot on Zynq Ultrascale+ SoCs, but this is a different workflow from the Armbian one, on which I'm quite ignorant. I would like take the opportunity with my TV box to learn to walk on my own legs and build Armbian from source. I followed the Armbian build documentation, cloned the Armbian build repo, ran the compile script with the options below, chose the Odroid-C4 as the target board in menuconfig, and let the script and gcc crunch their way to the end.

./compile.sh KERNEL_ONLY="no" KERNEL_CONFIGURE="yes" BUILD_DESKTOP="yes" INSTALL_HEADERS="yes" EXTERNAL_NEW="prebuilt" EXPERT="yes" USE_MAINLINE_GOOGLE_MIRROR="yes" AUFS="yes" BRANCH="current" RELEASE="focal" BOARD="odroidc4"

By mounting the output image, I noticed that the boot directory does not match the one of the official image. I expect this, since I only target the S905X3 on an Odroid-C4, but some features like the U-Boot environment vars in extlinux/extlinux.conf is not there.  I would like to be able to build an image in synch with the current releases, especially regarding the U-Boot configuration. Can someone give me a tip on how should I change my build workflow?

Thanks!

Luigi