Is Linux not portable enough ?

md_zoran

Hello everyone. This is my first post here. My background is software development but not very experienced in the Linux SBC world.

So, I have 2x Radxa Zero 3W (not listed on Armbian) with a Rockchip 3566 MCU. And here the questions start...
- why don't the Orange Pi 3B or Quartz 64B Armbian images, with the same MCU, don't work on the Radxa Zero 3W ? Aka, shouldn't an OS be portable ? I'm not expecting such of Windows, but I did expect it from Linux

- what do the loaders contain exactly ? I have this situation where an older loader seems to boot with Armbian (and then shuts down) but a newer one doesn't... yet the older one doesn't work with the OS from Radxa but the newer one does. If we are talking memory address to chain-boot from, aren't these somewhat standard ?

- the last time I installed some Linuxes on a PC was when socket 939 was a new thing, over 15 years ago. An installation was pretty slim, yet now a Debian image decompresses on an SD card to about 12 GB ?!

- are these images actually an "in between" an official release kit and a working Linux image ?

Thank you in advance for your patience !

Edited by md_zoran

Welcome :)

1 hour ago, md_zoran said:

why don't the Orange Pi 3B or Quartz 64B Armbian images, with the same MCU, don't work on the Radxa Zero 3W ?

Those boards usually don't come with a standardized interface like UEFI which makes universal/generic images possible. So customization is necessary for each and every board. This is especially the case for so called tvboxes which makes deal with such devices a huge pain.

Refer https://docs.armbian.com/User-Guide_FAQ/#why-i-cannot-simply-shove-a-random-image-into-my-board-to-work-like-on-my-pc

and https://docs.armbian.com/User-Guide_FAQ/#why-does-armbian-not-support-tv-boxes-in-general-the-market-is-huge