OPi 5 Doesnt Boot - MTD no space

FreddyOPi
Go to solution Solved by FreddyOPi,

I have been using my OPi 5 for several months with Armbian on my NVMe ssd.  I decided to shift my SSDs around, and removed the one that was in my OPi5 and put in a new one.  I burned the latest Armbian 23.8 Bookworm Cinnamon dated Aug 31, 2023 using BalenaEtcher onto an SD card, put it in the OPi5, and it booted fine.  I did apt update and upgrade, no problems. I ran nand-sata-install hoping to transfer the system to the ssd and it failed. My memory is fuzzy due to panic setting in, but I tried the Jameschambers process to copy the system over, and then tried to boot off the ssd card, and it failed. When I tried armbian-config it failed to update the MTD and reported no space (blank MB). Then I tried booting off the SD card and it failed. I connected the USB-tty to read the console and there were errors both on the ssd and the 16 MB MTD.  So I removed the ssd, and I still get an error and it will not boot off the SD card.  I have attached the console output for the condition with no ssd card, and failing to boot.

Can anyone help me correct this boot problem? I think the MTD is somehow corrupted and needs to be reloaded but I don't know how to do it.

OPi5BootFail.txt

What I have done so far, which still doesn't work:

1. Flash new, clean Armbian image onto SD card, and boot from that

2. on the command line enter $ "sudo parted -l" which will show the device

3. on the command line enter $ "$ sudo fsck -y /dev/mtdblock0" which gave me the error ext2fs_open2: Bad magic number in super-block

4. on the command line enter $ "armbian-config", select System, select Install, select 7 Install/Update the bootloader on MTD Flash and wait, and this was successful (no errors)

5. reinstalled NVMe ssd, removed SD card, and it would not boot, reinstalled SD card and it would not boot.

6. Flash another new, clean Armbian image onto SD card, and boot from that