Pi Prime - U-boot CRC after apt-get upgrade

fabioctba

Hi,

I performed an apt-get upgrade on my system, and it installed the 4.13 kernel. After the reboot, i started getting the message "bad CRC - using default environment". I spent the whole day reading many threads but still didn't manage to come with a solution. I tried the symlink to /boot/dtb/allwinner from the PC2 forum, but with no luck. I bought this board recently, it is my first board and i am very new to this, although i have decent Linux knowledge. Could you point out what i might have done wrong or if i'm missing something?

2 hours ago, fabioctba said:

Could you point out what i might have done wrong

You buyed the false board (sorry to be so direct). :P I can't point you to the right direction cause I don't own any H5 boards at the moment. But repeat what's written if you boot up the first time an experimental build (which is the case for every H5 board):

nightly.jpg.6775e4f6d96266f96cd5908ffc73c821.jpg
Experimental builds can break with every update, that's the reason why they're not recommended for end users. If you want best mainline support on allwinner boards you should have a look here. My recommendation (and that's a personal point of view) is a H3 board. Most headless stuff works on mainline and when not, you can try BSP kernel (3.4.113) to see if it works there.

Since you own the board now and probably won't buy a new one soon I would freeze kernel after first boot:

armbian-config --> Armbian --> Hold (to freeze kernel and board support packages). 

Bad CRC at u-boot is normal behaviour, unrelated to the development stage of H5 kernel.

2 hours ago, chwe said:

Since you own the board now and probably won't buy a new one soon I would freeze kernel after first boot:

armbian-config --> Armbian --> Hold (to freeze kernel and board support packages). 

This will be the best way to go for some time or learn how to fix things if they break on update and keep using the latest builds ...