Good Armbian compatible boards

GreyGhostRos

Hello guys, I'm new to SBCs in general and would like to start tinkering around a bit. But am not able to find a central resource with reviews and such. So have decided to ask the question here (moderators please feel free to move the thread around) 

I am looking for a SBC in the 30 to 35 or upto 40$ price range with a bare minimum of the following :

1. 64bit SoC

2. Atleast 1 GB RAM (pref 2 GB) 

3. Wifi on board (or are wifi dongles a better option?) 

4. 1080p out by hdmi.. Preferably 4k.. 

I read enough to understand that manufacturers other than Raspberry are not great with OS support or optimisation.. So I am looking for something that runs Armbian well or will run it well enough in the coming months (Had my eyes on the Orange Pi3 but I read about  a lot of issues with H6 boards with compatibility and heating?).. 

10 minutes ago, guidol said:

a good start - I think - would be the NanoPi K1 Plus

https://www.friendlyarm.com/index.php?route=product/product&path=69&product_id=220

Wth 1GB of RAM there is also the OrangePi PC2 - but no WiFi

I was unable to find many reviews about the K1 plus but I will definitely look into it.. 

What is your experience regarding on board wifi on these boards (orange, banana or nano) in general? Reliable? Or better off with a usb dongle? 

5 minutes ago, GreyGhostRos said:

What is your experience regarding on board wifi on these boards (orange, banana or nano) in general? Reliable? Or better off with a usb dongle? 

mostly its better to use a USB-WiFi Dongle - specially on OrangePi - for me the worst WiFi Chips onboard.

On 5/24/2019 at 10:46 AM, GreyGhostRos said:

So I am looking for something that runs Armbian well or will run it well enough in the coming months (Had my eyes on the Orange Pi3 but I read about  a lot of issues with H6 boards with compatibility and heating?)..