EDIT : why you shall NOT buy Olimex

prog-amateur

Hello,

First of all, please understand that I am a beginner level. My project is to make a NextcloudPlus on a Lime2 NAND version because of the following reasons :

- Lime2 is Open source board, so no third party code into it

- NAND version because I don't want to rely on a micro SD card, as it can be unstable for too many read/write (NextcloudPlus indexes a lot with sync).

- SATA version because I would like to store data through a SATA HDD (I feel it is more stable than USB).

So, I have tried to make :

nand-sata-install

...but after shutting down and removing the micro SD cart, it was impossible to boot from NAND (the board doesn't even boot). I have tried to understand why on the doc/forum/etc., but it is difficult due to my beginner skills.

My question is simple : can somebody please summarize a step-by-step guide to install armbian and be able to boot from NAND ?

Which version to download (to boot on NAND and have SATA support), and what to do ?

Thank you very much for your help.

41 minutes ago, prog-amateur said:

NAND version because I don't want to rely on a micro SD card, as it can be unstable for too many read/write

Average SD card is better than NAND. We use memory for /var/log by default ... NAND works only with old 3.4.y kernel ... which is kind of old. There is no magic ... nand-sata-install ... if it doesn't work, we need to see serial console log to debug.

1 hour ago, Igor said:

Average SD card is better than NAND. We use memory for /var/log by default ... NAND works only with old 3.4.y kernel ... which is kind of old. There is no magic ... nand-sata-install ... if it doesn't work, we need to see serial console log to debug.

Thank you for your feedback ! So what to do ?

If you can confirm that eMMC is more stable than SD/SD card, then I am ready to buy one. I really want to boot from the board with updated kernel to be up-to-date about security, and have SATA support.