Jump to content


Photo

[Tutorial] h3disp: change display settings on H3 devices


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 28 February 2016 - 02:54 PM

We included in Armbian a small utility called h3disp. If called without arguments it displays just a usage information:

tk@orangepipc:~$ sudo h3disp 
[sudo] password for tk: 
Usage: h3disp [-h/-H] -m [video mode] [-d] [-c [0-2]]

############################################################################

 This is a tool to set the display resolution of your Orange
 Pi by patching script.bin.

 In case you use an HDMI-to-DVI converter please use the -d switch.

 The resolution can be set using the -m switch. The following resolutions
 are currently supported:

    480i use "-m 480i" or "-m 0"
    576i use "-m 576i" or "-m 1"
    480p use "-m 480p" or "-m 2"
    576p use "-m 576p" or "-m 3"
    720p50 use "-m 720p50" or "-m 4"
    720p60 use "-m 720p60" or "-m 5"
    1080i50 use "-m 1080i50" or "-m 6"
    1080i60 use "-m 1080i60" or "-m 7"
    1080p24 use "-m 1080p24" or "-m 8"
    1080p50 use "-m 1080p50" or "-m 9"
    1080p60 use "-m 1080p60" or "-m 10"

 Two examples:

    'h3disp -m 1080p60 -d' (1920x1080@60Hz DVI)
    'h3disp -m 720i' (1280x720@30Hz HDMI)

 You can also specify the colour-range for your HDMI-display with the -c switch.

 The following values for -c are currently supported:

    0 -- RGB range 16-255 (Default, use "-c 0")
    1 -- RGB range 0-255 (Full range, use "-c 1")
    2 -- RGB range 16-235 (Limited video, "-c 2")

############################################################################

This tool tries to patch script.bin (adjusts the display settings there) and requires a reboot afterwards. While it is not useable with vanilla kernel (script.bin doesn't play any role there and a display driver is also still not ready) it might be also useful for H3 users that rely on other OS images (Debian/Ubuntu based from Xunlong or from loboris). Our h3disp tries also to patch script.bin there with your settings so it should be useful for non Armbian users too  :)

 

BTW: It could also be used with Debian based Linux OS images for A83T/H8 (Cubietruck Plus, pcDuino8 Uno or Banana Pi M3) but unfortunately these vendors fail to provide OS images that use a patched u-boot version that could deal with script.bin. At least 'Team BPi' got it finally after being told since months where/how to copy&paste this stuff but since they only update their sources and provide no updates for their OS images, Banana Pi M3 customers are still lost :)

 

In case you're an Android user you'll have to go the extra mile since the Android OS image for H3 Orange Pi's doesn't support script.bin. You could apply the changes h3disp offers to one of our provided fex files but have then to overwrite a few sectors on your SD card to get this stuff working (by choosing our fex files you could also 'patch' the Android image to run better on the Orange Pi One or get all USB ports and Ethernet on the other models and improve realiability and decrease SoC temperature)


  • Tido and Tomvictor like this

Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#2 hatahata

hatahata

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 20 April 2016 - 10:41 AM

i manage to understand the commad of h3disp .

 

i think from experiment that origenal resolution is higher than 'h3disp -m 1080p60' .

how to restore origenal resolution by h3disp ?

 

in my case i backup /boot . so i can manage to restore origenal resolution .

 

ls -l /OrangePi-boot-HDD/
total 6928
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2107649  3月  9 04:03 System.map-3.4.110-sun8i
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    4096  3月 15 13:20 bin
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    6944  3月  9 04:23 boot.bmp
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    2019  4月  9 23:35 boot.cmd
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    2091  4月  9 23:35 boot.scr
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   93944  3月  9 04:03 config-3.4.110-sun8i
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      24  3月 15 13:20 script.bin -> /boot/bin/orangepipc.bin
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4866320  3月  9 04:03 vmlinuz-3.4.110-sun8i
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      21  3月  9 04:23 zImage -> vmlinuz-3.4.110-sun8i



#3 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 20 April 2016 - 12:04 PM

Original resolution isn't higher and h3disp creates /boot/script.bin.bak to recover from errors. Absolutely no idea what /OrangePi-boot-HDD/ is...


Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#4 hatahata

hatahata

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 20 April 2016 - 05:37 PM

thanks . i see script.bin.bak .

 

 

mkdir /OrangePi-boot-HDD

cp -aR /boot/*  /OrangePi-boot-HDD

(i like backup for safe .  the reason of the name of   OrangePi-boot-HDD is that my environment is nand , namely root is in usb hard disk )



#5 hojnikb

hojnikb

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 03 May 2016 - 03:45 PM

You guys should also make a similar script, that changes voltages and frequencies for the SoC. 


Orange Pi PC #1: 1.2Ghz@1.24V, 1GB DDR3, 16GB UHS-I, Official case, 5V@2A

Orange Pi PC #2: 1.2Ghz@1.24V, 1GB DDR3, 32GB UHS-I, 5V@2A

Orange Pi PC2: 1.0Ghz@1.1V, 1GB DDR3, 32GB EVO+, Official case,5V@2A


#6 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 03 May 2016 - 03:48 PM

You guys should also make a similar script, that changes voltages and frequencies for the SoC. 

 

Are you talking about this? http://forum.armbian...ility-problems/


Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#7 ludwich

ludwich

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 May 2016 - 11:59 AM

TKaiser made the great tool H3DISP to change the Display resolution by editing the bootscript:

 

I have an Problem with an DVI-Display with native 1280x1024 pixel resolution. There is an horizontal scalling to 1280x720 (not identical with the native resolution)

 

The next point, Igor reduced the initial resolution to to 720 using HDMI mode, but my Display dont work without the DVI flag. When i use the op  on a HDMI-TV an change the screen to 720/DVI it work with "wrongcolors" - but can it see. Is it an idea to change the initial resolution to 720DVI? I hope that all people can see a something on screen an change then to there Real-Setting?

 

The simplest "userfriendly" way is to ask the user in a smal dialog on first start.

 

What can we do to made more Resolutions true?

Wher are th limtations of the H3 SOCs?

 

servus ludwich

 

    480i use "-m 480i" or "-m 0"
    576i use "-m 576i" or "-m 1"
    480p use "-m 480p" or "-m 2"
    576p use "-m 576p" or "-m 3"
    720p50 use "-m 720p50" or "-m 4"
    720p60 use "-m 720p60" or "-m 5"
    1080i50 use "-m 1080i50" or "-m 6"
    1080i60 use "-m 1080i60" or "-m 7"
    1080p24 use "-m 1080p24" or "-m 8"
    1080p50 use "-m 1080p50" or "-m 9"
    1080p60 use "-m 1080p60" or "-m 10"

 

(sorry table is damaged)

Table of Displayresolutions, Formatname, Ratio and Pixelcount: 

VGA Super VGA 800 × 600 4∶3 4∶3     qHD, QHD Quarter HD 960 × 540 16∶9 16∶9     HXGA Half Megapixel (Apple) 832 × 624 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 519.168     960 × 540 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 518.400     964 × 544 ≈ 16:9 16∶9 1.003 524.416 WXGA Wide XGA 1024 × 576 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 589.824 DVGA Double VGA 960 × 640 3∶2 3∶2 1∶1 614.400 WSVGA Wide SVGA 1024 × 600 ≈ 17:10 16∶9 1.041 614.400 WSVGA Wide SVGA 1072 × 600 ≈ 16:9 16∶9 0.995 643.200     960 × 720 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 691.200 EVGA Extended VGA 1024 × 768 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 786.432 XGA Extended Graphics Array 1024 × 768 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 786.432 HD720, 720p High Definition, „HD ready1280 × 720 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 921.600 DSVGA Double SVGA 1200 × 800 3∶2 3∶2 1∶1 960.000 WXGA Wide XGA (Bright View) 1280 × 768 5∶3 5∶3 1∶1 983.040 XGA XGA+ 1152 × 864 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 995.328 WXGA Wide XGA 1280 × 800 8∶5 8∶5 1∶1 1.024.000 WXGA Wide XGA 1360 × 768 ≈ 16:9 16∶9 1.003 1.044.480 WXGA Wide XGA 1366 × 768 ≈ 16:9 16∶9 0.999 1.049.088 WXGA Wide XGA 1376 × 768 ≈ 16:9 16∶9 0.992 1.056.768 OLPC One Laptop per Child 1200 × 900 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 1.080.000 SXVGA Super Extended VGA 1280 × 960 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 1.228.800 QVGA Quad VGA 1280 × 960 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 1.228.800 UWXGA Ultra Wide XGA 1600 × 768 25:12 2.083 1∶1 1.228.800 WXGA+ WXGA Plus 1400 × 900 14∶9 14∶9 1∶1 1.260.000 WXGA+ WXGA Plus 1440 × 900 8∶5 8∶5 1∶1 1.296.000 SXGA Super XGA 1280 × 1024 5∶4 5∶4 1∶1 1.310.720   (Apple) 1440 × 960 3∶2 3∶2 1∶1 1.382.400 WSXGA Wide SXGA 1600 × 900 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 1.440.000 SXGA+ SXGA Plus 1400 × 1050 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 1.470.000 WSXGA Wide SXGA 1600 × 1024 25∶16 25∶16 1∶1 1.638.400 WSXGA+ Wide SXGA+ 1680 × 1050 8∶5 8∶5 1∶1 1.764.000 UXGA Ultra XGA 1600 × 1200 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 1.920.000 HD1080, 1080p High Definition, „Full HD1920 × 1080 16∶9 16∶9 50/60 OK WUXGA Wide UXGA 1920 × 1200 8∶5 8∶5 1∶1 2.304.000 QWXGA Quad WXGA 2048 × 1152 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 2.359.296 TXGA Tesselar XGA 1920 × 1400 48:35 1.371 1∶1 2.688.000     1920 × 1440 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 2.764.800 SUXGA Super UXGA 2048 × 1536 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 3.145.728 QXGA Quad XGA 2048 × 1536 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 3.145.728 UW-UXGA Ultra Wide - UXGA 2560 × 1080 21⅓:9 21∶9 1∶1 2.764.800 WQHD, 1440p Wide QHD (QHD) 2560 × 1440 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 3.686.400 WQXGA Wide QXGA 2560 × 1600 8∶5 8∶5 1∶1 4.096.000 UWQHD, 1440p Ultra Wide QHD (QHD) 3440 × 1440 43:18 2.389 1∶1 4.953.600 QSXGA Quad SXGA 2560 × 2048 5∶4 5∶4 1∶1 5.242.880 QHD+ Quad High Definition Plus 3200 × 1800 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 5.760.000 QSXGA+ Quad SXGA+ 2800 × 2100 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 5.880.000 WQSXGA Wide QSXGA 3200 × 2048 25∶16 25∶16 1∶1 6.553.600 QUXGA Quad UXGA 3200 × 2400 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 7.680.000 HSVGA Hex SVGA 3200 × 2400 4∶3 4∶3 1∶1 7.680.000 UHD, 2160p Ultra High Definition, „4K“ 3840 × 2160 16∶9 16∶9 1∶1 8.294.400

 

Here is great overviewpicture about Displayresolutions:


#8 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 06 May 2016 - 12:12 PM

What can we do to made more Resolutions true?

 

Start to code? Here you find adoptions that enable these 4:3 resolutions: https://github.com/d.../commits/master

 

But these new definitions should not overwrite existing resolutions but instead add more modes to be used. The same would help with A64 since the BSP 1.2 kernel used there (based on kernel 3.10.x) uses same code and it's also the same HDMI controller inside.

 

BTW: Currently in an very early stage and 'work in progress': https://github.com/l...sunxi-disp-tool

 

But we should switch to this tool later on sun8i since this will save the reboot to change resolution. Longsleep wants to try out higher resolutions than 1080p today, maybe we need more memory reservations for framebuffer then. But at least there's some progress regarding different display resolutions and switching between them.


  • aegrotatio likes this

Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#9 aegrotatio

aegrotatio

    Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 May 2016 - 04:59 AM

Those commits are very interesting but, yeah, they shouldn't remove the old values.

 

If I ever get a working toolchain to build the kernel I'll see what I can do.



#10 Hannes Worst

Hannes Worst

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 12:50 PM

Hi,

 

I've managed to get my screensettings to 1280x1024 by filling out fb0_width = 1280 and fb0_height = 1024 in the script.fex file. And than rebuild my script.bin. It allready performes a lot better on my monitor. But there is no refresh rate (0,0) so the fonts are very blurry. Is there a way to adjust the refresh rate in the fex file? By the way, I'm using a hdmi-vga connector.

 

Thanks for all your great work on Armbian!!  :)



#11 Yume

Yume

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 05:32 PM

Tried to apply the "overdefining patch" with armbian build tools like that:

--- a/drivers/video/sunxi/disp/de/disp_display.c
+++ b/drivers/video/sunxi/disp/de/disp_display.c
@@ -723,7 +723,7 @@
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_60HZ:
width = 1280;
- height = 720;
+ height = 1024;
break;
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080I_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080I_60HZ:
@@ -777,7 +777,7 @@
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_60HZ:
width = 1280;
- height = 720;
+ height = 1024;
break;
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080I_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080I_60HZ:
--- a/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/disp/de/disp_display.c
+++ b/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/disp/de/disp_display.c
@@ -733,7 +733,7 @@
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_60HZ:
width = 1280;
- height = 720;
+ height = 1024;
break;
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080P_60HZ:
@@ -785,7 +785,7 @@
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_720P_60HZ:
width = 1280;
- height = 720;
+ height = 1024;
break;
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080P_50HZ:
case DISP_TV_MOD_1080P_60HZ:
--- a/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/hdmi/aw/hdmi_core.c
+++ b/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/hdmi/aw/hdmi_core.c
@@ -31,7 +31,7 @@
{HDMI480P, 0,27000000, 0, 720, 480, 858, 60, 16, 62, 525, 30, 9, 6, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
{HDMI576P, 0,27000000, 0, 720, 576, 864, 68, 12, 64, 625, 39, 5, 5, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0},
{HDMI720P_50, 0,74250000, 0, 1280, 720, 1980, 220, 440, 40, 750, 20, 5, 5, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0},
- {HDMI720P_60, 0,74250000, 0, 1280, 720, 1650, 220, 110, 40, 750, 20, 5, 5, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0},
+ {HDMI720P_60, 0,108000000, 0, 1280, 1024, 1688, 248, 48, 112, 1066, 38, 1, 3, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0},
{HDMI1080I_50, 0,74250000, 0, 1920, 1080, 2640, 148, 528, 44, 1125, 15, 2, 5, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0},
{HDMI1080I_60, 0,74250000, 0, 1920, 1080, 2200, 148, 88, 44, 1125, 15, 2, 5, 1, 1, 1, 0, 0},
{HDMI1080P_50, 0,148500000, 0, 1920, 1080, 2640, 148, 528, 44, 1125, 36, 4, 5, 1, 1, 0, 0, 0},
--- a/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/hdmi/aw/hdmi_edid.c
+++ b/drivers/video/sunxi/disp2/hdmi/aw/hdmi_edid.c
@@ -163,7 +163,7 @@
if ((sizex== 720) && (sizey == 480)) {
//Device_Support_VIC[HDMI480P] = 1;
}
- if ((sizex== 1280) && (sizey == 720)) {
+ if ((sizex== 1280) {
Device_Support_VIC[HDMI720P_60] = 1;
}
if ((sizex== 1920) && (sizey == 540)) {
@@ -180,7 +180,7 @@
if ((sizex== 720) && (sizey == 576)) {
Device_Support_VIC[HDMI576P] = 1;
}
- if ((sizex== 1280) && (sizey == 720)) {
+ if ((sizex== 1280) {
Device_Support_VIC[HDMI720P_50] = 1;
}
if ((sizex== 1920) && (sizey == 540)) {

 

Selected target was OrangePiPlus, source patching was ok, but the build script stops at kernel compillation. Any idea, how to make the build script more verbose about the kernel/modules compillation part (eg. put the log into debug/ dir...) ?



#12 zador.blood.stained

zador.blood.stained

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1609 posts

Posted 03 June 2016 - 06:34 PM

+ if ((sizex== 1280) {

2 parentheses on the left and only one on the right. Please recheck and fix syntax errors and try again.

 

To store all compilation messages in a log file you can add

PROGRESS_LOG_TO_FILE=yes

to compile.sh


Spoiler

#13 Yume

Yume

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 June 2016 - 12:30 AM

Thanks for help, that works... finally i got the 1280x1024... but at 55Hz, and fonts look strange :/ Is there any internal scaling feature/algorithm or just my timings are bad?

Is there any tool/calculator/readymade table to get these numbers accurately? :)



#14 dsivier

dsivier

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 12:13 PM

dear, new here than sorry if  wrong place for this post.

i got since one week O PI-PC and for the price so happy.

i have only one issue, using SunFounder 7" 1024x600 TFT that on Raspberry PI is easy to get working in config.txt

hdmi_cvt=1024 576 60 3 0 0 0

hdmi_group=2

hdmi_mode=87

hdmi_drive=2

i loaded Armbian now, but tested also other images. Tested the fb.modes, fbset etc, but no way, screen on hdmi is nice but out of the borders all the time.

I'm using these boards for SDR saving coax cable via rtl_tcp, this is the reason a small portable screen is nice to be used.

thanks if any suggestion



#15 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 01:37 PM

Only advice is to try out the fbset settings I came up with a year ago: http://forum.lemaker...-15430-1-1.html

 

But I doubt that this will work with the BSP kernel we're currently using on H3 boards. Please get back to us with feedback. To add additional HDMI resolutions I still think it's necessary to patch kernel sources like we do for 800x480 pixels already (no idea whether this still works since we exchanged the base kernel source tree in the meantime). But I only know of settings to get 1280x1024 and 1024x768 working.


Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#16 dsivier

dsivier

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 June 2016 - 06:56 PM

dear tkaiser,

 

yes http://forum.lemaker...-15430-1-1.htmlthis was my first try using search in internet.

i can get changes on the TFT but w/o good results, i mean i can get a smaller desktop in upper left corner and black on remaining parts or changing again a freezing monitor, today i was following another way finding this http://linux-sunxi.o...t_configurationand using fex2bin and bin2fex, The converter works!     :)   the results are same as using fbset  :( . I agree there is something on behind that cannot permit resolution change in flexible way out of predefined table (on TV LED all the HDMI preset are ok). Back on Raspberry with working res via config.txt the fbset give me this out:

mode "1024x576"

        geometry 1024 576 1024 576 16

        timings     0 0 0 0 0 0 0

        rgba      5/11,6/5,5/0,0/16

 

(in rc.local nothing written)

 

obviously putting this numbers on fb.modes an running fbset on O PI PC nothing is working as expected.

 

i hope can help

 

thanks



#17 perfstr

perfstr

    Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 02 July 2016 - 09:18 PM

Is it possible to get more detailed explanation about the h3disp -c option, especially - what is the correct way to set 16-bit (RGB565) mode?

And another question - when I try to run command

fbset -depth 16

to set 16-bit mode, I get smaller text appearing twice on the screen in upper part. I have full HD monitor with DVI input.

What is the correct command needed to keep the screen structure unchanged and just set the required 16-bit mode?

Thanks.



#18 Tomvictor

Tomvictor

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 July 2016 - 04:02 PM

Hai tkaiser, 

   This is a really informative post. exactly what I am looking for several days. I have a problem with orange pi PC. I have recently brought a 2K Display from Topfoison ( Resolution 1440 x 2560) (from China). My application is a VR Headset.  I have tried lot of experiments with it, But still not working. There is no tutorial or explanation for 1440x2560 resolution.

I just made a loss of $490 and now going to lose my job. Can you please help me.

Thank you. 

tom@buildfromzero.com



#19 Igor

Igor

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2888 posts

Posted 03 July 2016 - 05:37 PM

Hai tkaiser, 

   This is a really informative post. exactly what I am looking for several days. I have a problem with orange pi PC. I have recently brought a 2K Display from Topfoison ( Resolution 1440 x 2560) (from China). My application is a VR Headset.  I have tried lot of experiments with it, But still not working. There is no tutorial or explanation for 1440x2560 resolution.

I just made a loss of $490 and now going to lose my job. Can you please help me.

Thank you. 

tom@buildfromzero.com

 

You can open an issue about adding new video mode, but since issue is already open (from March 10th), you can add short comment there and wait until it's solved. Topic in general talks about our utility to set available video modes. 1440x 2560 is not available and has to be added on a kernel level.

 

For faster way, you will need to do this on your own, hire someone or simply accept consequences of a wrong business decision.


  • Tomvictor likes this

Want to send me a private message? Stop and think again. If there’s no reason for it to be private, it should be public. Thank you!


#20 Tomvictor

Tomvictor

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 04 July 2016 - 03:04 AM

Thank you..

Can you please suggest me from which repository  I should start and the H3 documentation about the HDMI.

Thanks



#21 Igor

Igor

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 2888 posts

Posted 04 July 2016 - 06:37 AM

There is a link Sources just below the Armbian logo, setup build environment, read building docs, ... enable "Debug mode" and run the script. When it tells you, start with editing kernel code (when ready). This tool will already save you from most of general problems and up to months of work. All you need is to get familiar with it but I already write you essentials for this case.

 

.... for more, details about HDMI specs, check: http://linux-sunxi.org/H3 (community made), https://github.com/allwinner-zh (chip vendor made) and use Google.

When you succeed, do add all other missing and odd resolutions too.


Want to send me a private message? Stop and think again. If there’s no reason for it to be private, it should be public. Thank you!


#22 Hasitha Ganepola

Hasitha Ganepola

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 July 2016 - 05:23 AM

Thanks



#23 earth08

earth08

    Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 August 2016 - 08:16 AM

Dear tkaiser,
And one more thing.
I have my Samsung tv with 1080p
I have set it to 1080p60
But my screen in zoomed in means the 4 sides are cut. I can't see anything in that portion.
What to to to zoom out?
Please guide
Thanks in adv.

#24 RagnerBG

RagnerBG

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Posted 29 August 2016 - 08:37 PM

I have my Samsung tv with 1080p
I have set it to 1080p60
But my screen in zoomed in means the 4 sides are cut. I can't see anything in that portion.
What to to to zoom out?

As i own Samsung tv, i think your problem is not Armbian related, but you have to set up your tv properly. Go to your tv MENU and search for this option in Picture:

Samsung_2012_LCD_Menu3.jpg

 

if 16:9 zoom and cut the screen to you, as to me in most of HDMI devices.


  • earth08 likes this

#25 nightshark

nightshark

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 August 2016 - 04:38 PM

As i own Samsung tv, i think your problem is not Armbian related, but you have to set up your tv properly. Go to your tv MENU and search for this option in Picture:

Samsung_2012_LCD_Menu3.jpg

 

if 16:9 zoom and cut the screen to you, as to me in most of HDMI devices.

 

I've just received my Orange Pi Lite. I am having the same issue with the edges being cut off. What if my TV doesn't have a 'Fit to Screen option' ?



#26 RagnerBG

RagnerBG

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Posted 31 August 2016 - 01:12 AM

I've just received my Orange Pi Lite. I am having the same issue with the edges being cut off. What if my TV doesn't have a 'Fit to Screen option' ?

I don't know what your tv model is. Most brands have this options with various names. I think in LG was something like "Pixel format". Just google it. Here you can read something about this - http://www.cnet.com/...ure-on-your-tv/ .



#27 userz

userz

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 August 2016 - 09:16 AM

I have the same problem. (edges are cut)

"As i own Samsung tv, i think our problem is not in TV", because I tried to change all TV options.

Even more, I installed Lubuntu_jacer on my OPi PC+SamsTV and the image was fine exactly to screen.

 

May be Igor or tkaiser

give some advice to resolve this problem.

Thanks.



#28 tkaiser

tkaiser

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2660 posts

Posted 31 August 2016 - 09:33 AM

C'mon -- if you're suffering from overscanning issues and other OS images work fine, then simply try out all resolutions h3disp provides (followed by a reboot) and choose the one that fits best.

 

The HDMI driver in legacy kernel is crap, we all know that, nothing will ever change (no documentation for HDMI, no useable license for driver sources) and the only difference between different OS images with a desktop environment is that they use different HDMI modes by default. With h3disp you can choose from

    480i use "-m 480i" or "-m 0"
    576i use "-m 576i" or "-m 1"
    480p use "-m 480p" or "-m 2"
    576p use "-m 576p" or "-m 3"
    720p50 use "-m 720p50" or "-m 4"
    720p60 use "-m 720p60" or "-m 5"
    1080i50 use "-m 1080i50" or "-m 6"
    1080i60 use "-m 1080i60" or "-m 7"
    1080p24 use "-m 1080p24" or "-m 8"
    1080p50 use "-m 1080p50" or "-m 9"
    1080p60 use "-m 1080p60" or "-m 10"

IIRC 720p60 is our default (since in the beginning most users demanded 720p), most probably other OS images use 1080p60 instead, so better try out 'h3disp -m1080p60' first (or use your display's/TV's on screen menu to figure out which settings the other OS image uses -- it's all in your display/TV and somewhere there is also the solution to overscan problems, most of the times deep hidden in submenus and called rather weird).

 

That's all I can say, I connected a HDMI display to my +10 H3 devices maybe 5 times in my life to check consumption/temperature behaviour of the HDMI driver.


Please don't send personal messages! Use the forum so others can participate and benefit!

 

Before you report any problem please be aware that crappy SD cards and insufficient power supply are reason N° 1 why things are failing. Try to rule this out first please, check 'getting started' recommendations and check/provide 'sudo armbianmonitor -u' output first!

 

Did you check out custom google powered forum search already (before opening new threads or asking questions)?


#29 RagnerBG

RagnerBG

    Advanced Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Posted 31 August 2016 - 12:24 PM

I have the same problem. (edges are cut)

 

This irrelevant issue making too much offtopic. Maybe it's for separate thread. As @tkaiser wrote, the default resolution is 720p, and my tv used to overscan too for many versions of Armbian till the latests. But i change it immediately with 1080p60, which is native for my tv (h3disp -m 10 -c 1) and no overscan after reboot without touching anything in tv side. Bur for some devices, usually my PC-s, but not any of my ARM boards, i have overscan in native resolution of 1080p and then i use the option "fit to screen". This is something related to HDMI link, which is not exactly replacement of DVI and most of PC monitors with HDMI connection have this issue too. That's why there is this pixel format option present.

I think you should read the instructions and set the correct resolution for your tv.



#30 userz

userz

    Newbie

  • Senior Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 01 September 2016 - 08:13 AM

OK. Thanks for quick answer. It is really too much offtopic, because any of great working h3disp modes (480..576...720...1080) cannot kill overscanning. And problem still alive. To understand the problem see schematic pict in 480 mode.

 

 

Attached Images

  • ex.jpg